Skip navigation

Title: Kisses and Lies
Author: Lauren Henderson
Pages: 320 (hardcover)
ISBN: 978-0-385-73489-9

  Kisses and Lies by Lauren Henderson is the sequel to Kiss Me Kill Me.  In Kiss Me Kill Me, the talented gymnast and sleuth, Scarlett Wakefield, kissed Dan McAndrew at a party.  Doesn’t sound like a big deal, right?  Well think again.  Right after Scarlett kissed Dan he dropped dead in her arms.  Everybody thinks that Scarlett somehow killed him.  This is where Kisses and Lies picks up.  Scarlett is not convinced that she was the cause of Dan’s death.  She senses there was some foul play involved.  So together with her friend Taylor McGovern, she tries to figure out the puzzling enigma.  Scarlett goes to stay the weekend with Dan’s parents, hoping to find some clues.  There are many possible suspects, each with a different motive.  Scarlett endures many dangerous encounters with people, but will she solve the mystery?

  I really enjoyed this book.  It kept me guessing until the very end.  Though I had my suspicions about who the culprit could have been, it also could have been other people, so I had to keep second-guessing myself.  That is one of the points I look for in mystery books to determine whether or not I think it is good.  There was a lot of drama in this book, but the author didn’t over do it, which was good.  This book is set in England, so I also really enjoyed the English sayings that the characters would use.  I also fell in love with the cover the minute I saw it.  I don’t know what it is about the cover, but I think it’s amazing.  It depicts the story well too.  Overall, I found this to be a pretty good book that I would probably recommend to a friend.

Leave a Reply

