Skip navigation

For those of you who have never heard of NaNoWriMo it is National Novel Writing Month and it occurs in November.  This year I am a participant!!  The goal is to write a 175-page novel (approximately 50,000 words) in a month!  Think I can do it?  I sure do hope so!  Here is the prolouge that I have written for my novel, I wrote it last night. 

  If you control your breathing you can control your emotions.  I ran into an alley and looked around fearfully.  If you control your breathing you can control your emotions.  My heart beat at what seemed like a thousand miles per hour.  If you control your breathing you can control your emotions.  I dashed behind a dumpster and hoped that it wouldn’t find me.  If you control your breathing you can control your emotions.  I peeked around the corner, it was still there.  Breathe in, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5.  Breathe out, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5.  Again, breathe in….  I could feel my heart slowing down.  I peeked around the corner again, hoping that it would be gone.  There was no sign of it.  Slowly and carefully I crawled out of my hiding place.  Just remember, if you control your breathing you can control your emotions.  Still breathing slowly, I stepped out onto the street, the bright sun blinding me, my eyes must have adjusted to the darkness of the alley.  I turned left and started to walk towards Dr. Livingston’s house.

Please oh please tell me what you think, and if you have any suggestions, please let me know what they are!  If you’d like more information on NaNoWriMo or if you’d like to give support to me on this journey, e-mail me at penguinqueen@hotmail.com

7 Comments

  1. Wow! I can’t imagine doing this! Good luck!

    So, are you now seriously considering becoming a writer when you get older? What kind of writing genre are you most interested in? I like you’re prolouge!

    Can’t wait for your bday party!!! Yeah yeah yeah yeah yeah!

    Oh on saturday I have something to show you!

  2. Thank you Savannah! I want to be a writer with all my heart. So much that my head is constantly filled with thoughts of what it would be like to publish a book. I think I am best at writing just general fiction.

    I can’t wait for saturday either! Everybody I invited is able to come.

  3. Cool! I don’t have the patience to be a full time writer. I get bored with a project far to quickly. I’d like to become a better musician, not a professional, not a recording artist, (although that would be fun, :) I’m just not a good enough singer!) I’d also like to write songs, for my own personel pleasure.

    Do you still wanna learn guitar? I wish I could see you more often, cause then I could teach you some. Hey, if you DO wanna learn, tell me today, and i ccould bring

  4. Anyway, to finish my last post, if you do want to learn, I could bring a couple papers to help you out. Just let me know.

    Oh, and about tomorrow, do you want me to come dressed? or bring it with me?

  5. oh dang.
    this prologue leaves you hanging like crazy.
    i…want…more!!!

  6. Hi Rachel! I’m Mariah’s friend Savannah. Are you coming to Mariah’s party? If so, then I’ll meet you then! Can’t wait!

  7. Savannah – I still want to learn guitar very badly! And yes, Rachel is coming to my party!

    Rachel – I’m EXTREMELY glad that you like it! You’ll have to wait until it’s completely finished though before you get to read anymore!


Leave a Reply

