Skip navigation

Author:Henning Mankell

Review:

Shadows in the Twilightis about a soon to be twelve year old, Joel Gustafson.  One day, Joel experiences a Miracle.  As he is crossing the street, not looking where is going, he is run over by a bus, right before the bus hits him though, he trips and falls in just the right place that the bus merely goes over him, not injuring him at all.  Joel has never before experienced a Miracle and he isn’t quite sure what to do about it.  Does he thank God?  He knows that he has to do something to show his gratitude, he doesn’t want the Miracle to get reversed.  Joel decides on doing a good deed.  He knows a lady who is very sad, and he thinks that she needs a husband.  So Joel sets out to find her one.  Will he be able to find the right man for her, and will he be able to get them together?

I personally hated this book (yes, I know I could have used less strong wording).  I didn’t like the story line at all and I found it very boring.  I also found it hard to follow.  It seemed like the author kept changing what he was talking about suddenly, instead of smoothly going from one topic to another.

Overall I would give it 1 star. 

3 Comments

  1. Thanks for the book reviews!

    I can’t wait for your party on Sat!! I’m so excited! Are you getting the Kit movie? I thought you had said earlier that you wanted to get it.

  2. Do you have any suggestions for my reviews? Anything you would like to see added or changed?

    Yes, my mom told me that she was going to buy the movie for me and we get to watch it on Saturday!!!!

  3. Well, I really like the book reviews, but we have far different tastes in book likings, I have never cared much for vampires, werewolves, fantacy and such, so out of the books you review there are very few that I would actually like to pick up and read. HOWEVER, I don’t want to discourage you from doing your reviews because you do an excelent job of discribing them, what you like and dislike, and give a flavor for each story without giving anything away. Trust me, I couldn’t do as well, I’d want to give a play by play, line by line review of the story, discribing my favorite parts and all that, that everyone would fall asleep! You do an incredible job at giving just enough to intrest without telling the whole story. It is only my personal book genre prefrences that keep me from requesting all of your books from the library, certainly not your writing ability, which far surpasses mine in reviewing technic!

    I can’t wait to watch the movie again! I loved it!


Leave a Reply

