Skip navigation

Author: Erica Verrillo

Review: 

  Elissa’s Odyssey

by Erica Verrillo is the second book in the Phoenix Rising series.  Elissa has finally escaped from the Khan with the help of the Blue people and her new friend Maya.  Now, the only thing she wants is to be reunited with her father.  Elissa and Maya are put on a boat, but Elissa is soon separated from Maya when she gets off the boat to go shopping.  Will she ever get back to her friend Maya, and will she ever see her father again?

 

I would give this book 4 stars.

5 Comments

  1. I really loved this book! (I’d give it 6 stars.) It’s exciting, funny and has great characters. I especially liked zany crew of the Swamp Maiden and the atmosphere of the Great Swamp. There is lots of mystery, and new characters with magical Gifts. (Favian is beyond cool. He rocks.) I can’t wait for the next book to come out. Elissa is the bext!

  2. I thought this book was even better than the first one (though I really liked that one, too). I agree completely, Favian is beyond cool. But I really liked Billy, too. A direction-impaired sailor! He was hilarious. The end of the book was very exciting, especially the chase scene over the rooftops of spooky Gravesport with the One-Eyed-Man right behind them. I like the way everything works out in the end, but you are still left with a bit of a mystery to solve. I know I’m going to love book 3!

  3. LOVED IT! LOVED IT! LOVED IT! It was exciting and funny. And I think Aesha and Favian are great new characters. Aesha’s eyes are amazing. The last line of the book made me want to scream, because I have to wait until next summer to read the next book. AGHH!

  4. I thought Elissa’s Odyssey was a wonderful children’s fantasy. The plot was engaging – it’s one of those books that’s hard to put down – and the characters were endearing. Billy’s awkward, blooming love for Aesha was one of the most touching parts of this book. (I wish him luck!) As always, the animal characters provided comic relief. Of course, it ended on a cliff hanger, which just keeps you wanting more. Verrillo’s writing is fluid and the story unfolds smoothly. I am looking forward to the last book in the trilogy.

  5. For everybody who wants me to review Elissa’s Quest: I have checked my library and the book is not in there, I’m terribly sorry. If I get my hands on a copy though I will make sure to post a review of it!


Leave a Reply

